Poker Omnibus W50P

Home Up


Foreign WSOP Bracelet Winners

The World Series of Poker began in 1970 with an All-American cast of characters. Although a handful of non-Americans started playing in the tournaments, no foreigner cashed until 1982 when Greece's Dennis Zervos finished 3rd in the $1,000 Limit Hold 'Em for $20,200. England's Barry Clayton and the Philippines's Noli Francisco both made the money later in the same week.

In 1983, Ireland's Donnacha O'Dea became the first foreigner to finish runner-up, collecting $46,800 in the $1,000 Limit Hold 'Em.

Finally, in 1988, eighteen years after the World Series of Poker began, Norway's Thor Hansen became the first foreigner to win a WSOP bracelet in the $5,000 Seven-Card Stud. France's Gilbert Gross became the second just four days later in the $2,500 Pot-Limit Omaha.

First WSOP Bracelet by Country

1United States19700418Johnny Moss
2Norway19880507Thor Hansen
3France19880511Gilbert Gross
4Australia19890509Mel Judah
5South Africa19890514Norman Keyser
6Wales19900517Mansour Matloubi
7Costa Rica19930503Humberto Brenes
8Italy19950427Valter Farina
9England19960430John Morgan
10Lebanon19960502Freddy Deeb
11Sweden19970427Chris Bjorin
12Germany19970503Matthias Rohnacher
13Ireland19980426Donnacha O'Dea
14Canada19980430Daniel Negreanu
15Austria20000427Ivo Donev
16Thailand20000430Nat Koe
17Spain20010518Carlos Mortensen
18Denmark20020502Jan Sorensen
19Afghanistan20020510Qushqar Morad
20Indonesia20020520John Juanda
21Iran20030507Amir Vahedi
22Israel20050704Rafi Amit
23China20050706Jiang Chen
24Mexico20060726Victoriano Perches
25Russia20070607Alexander Kravchenko
26Netherlands20080618Rob Hollink
27Belgium20080622Davidi Kitai
28Brazil20080629Alexandre Gomes
29Finland20090606Ville Wahlbeck
30Hungary20090623Peter Traply
31Vietnam20100527Hoai Duc Pham
32New Zealand20100606Simon Watt
33Ukraine20110604Eugene Katchalov
34Switzerland20111009Guillaume Humbert
35Bulgaria20120601Nick Jivkov
36Japan20120620Naoya Kihara
37Czech Republic20120704Tomas Junek
38Tunisia20120923Imed Mahmoud
39Portugal20120928Jonathan Aguiar
40Belarus20140601Alex Bolotin
41Malaysia20141006Junzhong Loo
42Morocco20150604William Kakon
43Argentina20150616Ivan Luca
44Uruguay20151015Alex Komaromi
45Greece20151016Makarios Avramidis
46India20170607Aditya Sushant
47Venezuela20170616Joseph Di Rosa Rojas
48Romania20170704Alexandru Papazian
49Scotland20171102Niall Farrell
50Colombia20180607Daniel Ospina
51Philippines20180629Mike Takayama
52El Salvador20190615Luis Zedan
53South Korea20190623Jiyoung Kim
53Taiwan20191018James Chen
54Estonia20200727Ranno Sootla
55Lithuania20200803Vladas Burneikis
56Cyprus20200812Ravid Garbi
56Turkey20200813Orhan Ates
56Croatia20200817Ivan Zufic
57Poland20210801Bartlomiej Swieboda
57Malta20210829Armando D'avanzo
58Slovakia20211125Samuel Stranak
59Kosovo20211130Edmond Jahjaga

Note: only two of the above bracelets were not won in open events:

First Female WSOP Bracelet by Country

1United States19770506Jackie McDaniel
2Canada19980510Amanda Thompson
3Germany20070617Katja Thater
4Norway20070910Annette Obrestad
5France20100613Vanessa Hellebuyck
6Russia20160701Safiya Umerova
7England20170602Liv Boeree
8Australia20170709Heidi May
9India20180629Nikita Luther
10South Korea20190623Jiyoung Kim
11Iran20200905Melika Razavi
12Spain20211121Leo Margets


First Female Open WSOP Bracelet by Country

1United States19820501Vera Richmond
2Germany20070617Katja Thater
3Norway20070910Annette Obrestad
4Canada20160629Kristen Bicknell
5Russia20160701Safiya Umerova
6England20170602Liv Boeree
7India20180629Nikita Luther
8Iran20200905Melika Razavi
9Spain20211121Leo Margets

WSOP Bracelet Leaders by Country

All of the top bracelet winners are American: Phil Hellmuth (16); Doyle Brunson, Johnny Chan, and Phil Ivey (10); Johnny Moss and Erik Seidel (9); and Billy Baxter and Men Nguyen (7).

But foreigners are steadily making their way up the leaderboard.

Leading WSOP Bracelet Winners by Country

1United StatesPhil Hellmuth16
2CanadaDaniel Negreanu6
2ItalyJeff Lisandro6
4IndonesiaJohn Juanda5
5AustraliaMichael Addamo4
5BelgiumMichael Gathy4
5GermanyDominik Nitsche, George Danzer4
5IsraelAsi Moshe4
5SpainAdrian Mateos4
10Costa RicaMax Stern3
10EnglandBenny Glaser3
10GreeceGeorgios Sotiropolous3
10LebanonSam Farha3

Foreign WSOP Main Event Winners

In 1983, O'Dea became the first foreigner to reach the final table of the Main Event, finishing sixth. In 1985, England's Hamid Dastmalchi placed fifth. In 1988, Costa Rica's Humberto Brenes finished fourth.

Finally, on the 20th anniversary of the World Series of Poker in 1990, Wales's Mansour Matloubi became the first non-American to win the World Series of Poker Main Event, overcoming a field of 194 players to win $895,000.

Ireland's Noel Furlong became the second foreign Main Event winner in 1999, followed by Carlos Mortensen (Spain, 2001), Joe Hachem (Australia, 2005), and Peter Eastgate (Denmark, 2008).

Foreigners have won exactly half of the championships since 2010, with Germany leading the way with three titles (Pius Heinz in 2011, Hossein Ensan in 2019, and Koray Aldemir in 2021). The others were Jonathan Duhamel (Canada, 2010), Martin Jacobson (Sweden, 2014), and Damian Salas (Argentina, 2020).