Poker Omnibus W50P

Home Up

Hall of Fame

In 1979, Benny Binion created the Poker Hall of Fame to to honor its members and serve as a tourist attraction at his Horseshoe Casino. With help from his friends, he selected an interesting set of five Las Vegas poker players (Johnny Moss, Nick Dandolos, Corky McCorquodale, Red Winn, and Sid Wyman), a Wild West legend famous for dying at the poker table (Wild Bill Hickok), and an Englishman who died long before poker was even invented (Edmond Hoyle).

From 1980 to 1987, one player joined each year, but in 1988 two players came on board as the Hall of Fame Poker Classic debuted, building an entire set of tournaments around the induction ceremony. The festival lasted until 2002, although some of the later years were skipped, and the inductions returned to the end of the World Series of Poker Main Event.

One or two new inductees have been added every year since except for 1994, 1995, and 1998 to 2000. From 2005 to 2018, two players was the norm, with the exception of 2009. Since 2020, one player has been inducted each year.

The process was largely secretive until 2009, when the nomination system was opened to the public. From the pool of candidates, ten nominees are selected, which are then voted on (full list and analysis of nominees here).

The current system lets every living Hall of Fame member allocate ten votes however they like among the ten candidates. meaning they can place ten votes on a single candidate, spread their votes across ten people, or anything in between.

Voting Results

The results were kept secret until 2020, when the full results were publicized, indicating that 30 of the 31 voters had responded. Each had used all ten of their votes, and Huck Seed had won easily (76 votes) over Matt Savage (51) and Isai Scheinberg (45).

In 2021, Elezra garnered 90 votes, easily topping Savage (54) and Layne Flack (36).

In 2022, Layne Flack won the most votes from the 32 eligible voters, but the exact results were not publicized.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame, "a gambler must have played poker against acknowledged top competition, played for high stakes, played consistently well, gained the respect of peers, and stood the test of time. Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results."


In addition to Hickok and Hoyle, six other non-players are in the Hall: Benny Binion (Horsehoe and WSOP founder), Jack Binion (Horseshoe owner), Henry Orenstein (hole camera inventor), Eric Drache (tournament director), Jack McClelland (tournament director), and Mori Eskandani (TV producer).

Poker Hall of Fame

1979Johnny Moss9
1979Nick Dandolos0
1979Corky McCorquodale0
1979Red Winn0
1979Sid Wyman0
1979Wild Bill Hickok0
1979Edmond Hoyle0
1980Blondie Forbes0
1981Bill Boyd4
1982Tom Abdo0
1983Joe Bernstein1
1984Murph Harrold0
1985Red Hodges0
1986Henry Green0
1987Puggy Pearson4
1988Doyle Brunson10
1988Jack Straus2
1989Sarge Ferris1
1990Benny Binion0
1991Chip Reese3
1992Amarillo Slim Preston4
1993Jack Keller3
1996Little Man Popwell0
1997Roger Moore1
2001Stu Ungar5
2002Lyle Berman3
2002Johnny Chan10
2003Bobby Baldwin4
2004Berry Johnston5
2005Jack Binion0
2005Crandell Addington0
2006T.J. Cloutier6
2006Billy Baxter7
2007Barbara Enright3
2007Phil Hellmuth15
2008Dewey Tomko3
2008Henry Orenstein0
2009Mike Sexton1
2010Dan Harrington2
2010Erik Seidel8
2011Barry Greenstein3
2011Linda Johnson1
2012Eric Drache0
2012Sailor Roberts2
2013Tom McEvoy4
2013Scotty Nguyen5
2014Daniel Negreanu6
2014Jack McClelland0
2015John Juanda5
2015Jennifer Harman2
2016Carlos Mortensen2
2016Todd Brunson1
2017Phil Ivey10
2017David Ulliott1
2018John Hennigan5
2018Mori Eskandani0
2019Chris Moneymaker1
2019David Oppenheim0
2020Huck Seed4
2021Eli Elezra4
2022Layne Flack6


Related Articles

External Links