Poker Omnibus W50P


Poker Hall of Fame Playing Card Deck

Benny Binion started the Poker Hall of Fame in 1979 with five poker players -- Johnny Moss, Nick "The Greek" Dandolos, Felton "Corky" McCorquodale, Red Winn, and Sid Wyman -- and two "contributors", Wild Bill Hickok and Edmond Hoyle. There was no vote, and there was no induction committee. Binion simply chose some of his old friends, one Wild West legend who died famously while playing poker, and the man synonymous with game rules, even though he died long before poker was invented.

From 1980 to 1987, one player joined each year, but in 1988 two players came on board as the Hall of Fame Poker Classic debuted, building an entire set of tournaments around the induction ceremony. The festival lasted until 2002, although some of the later years were skipped, and the inductions returned to the end of the World Series of Poker Main Event.

Since 2005, the Hall has added two people each year with the exception of 2009, when Mike Sexton was the sole honoree.

The Poker Hall of Fame playing card deck celebrates the accomplishments of all of these poker legends.1

The front of each card has the suit and denomination, player name, and a caricature.2

The backs have the name, a poker-related quote, and one to three factoids. Players also have their best WSOP Main Event finish, WSOP bracelets, WSOP cashes, WPT titles, and career live tournament winnings.

Poker Hall of Fame: 1979 to 2016

DeucesJohnny MossNicholas DandolosCorky McCorquodaleRed Winn1979
ThreesSid WymanWild Bill HickokEdmond HoyleBlondie Forbes1979-80
FoursBill BoydTom AbdoJoe BernsteinMurph Harrold1981-84
FivesRed HodgesHenry GreenPuggy PearsonDoyle Brunson1985-88
SixesJack StrausSarge FerrisBenny BinionChip Reese1988-91
SevensAmarillo Slim PrestonJack KellerLittle Man PopwellRoger Moore1992-97
EightsStu UngarLyle BermanJohnny ChanBobby Baldwin2001-03
NinesBerry JohnstonJack BinionCrandell AddingtonT.J. Cloutier2004-06
TensBilly BaxterBarbara EnrightPhil HellmuthDewey Tomko2006-08
JacksHenry OrensteinMike SextonDan HarringtonErik Seidel2008-10
QueensBarry GreensteinLinda JohnsonEric DracheSailor Roberts2011-12
KingsTom McEvoyScotty NguyenDaniel NegreanuJack McClelland2013-14
AcesJohn JuandaJennifer HarmanCarlos MortensenTodd Brunson2015-16

Poker Hall of Fame: 2017 to 2019

DeucesPhil IveyDavid UlliottJohn HenniganMori Eskandani2017-18
ThreesChris MoneymakerDavid Oppenheim2019

External Links: