Poker Omnibus W50P

Home Up

Most WSOP Bracelets

In the mid-2000s, the race was on to see who could win his tenth WSOP bracelet first: Doyle Brunson, Johnny Chan, or Phil Hellmuth. Each had earned his ninth in 2003 and was shut out in 2004, so the tension was high going into 2005.

It took until Event #25, but Chan got there first, taking down the $2,500 Pot-Limit Hold 'Em on June 26. Brunson tied him just four days later, capturing the $5,000 Short-Handed No-Limit Hold 'Em. Hellmuth may have gotten there third a year later, but he would be the sole member of the triumvirate to reach eleven (2007) and beyond (two more in 2012, including one in Europe, and one each in 2015, 2018, and 2021).1

You can watch an animated rendition of the history of the WSOP Bracelet Race.

Most World Series of Poker Bracelets

116Phil Hellmuth
210Doyle Brunson
210Johnny Chan
210Phil Ivey
59Johnny Moss
69Erik Seidel
77Billy Baxter
77Men Nguyen
96Brian Hastings
96Chris Ferguson
96Daniel Negreanu
96Jay Heimowitz
96Jeff Lisandro
96John Hennigan
96Layne Flack
96T.J. Cloutier
96Ted Forrest

All bracelets are counted for this table.2

Hellmuth and Ferguson each have one bracelet from WSOP Europe, Ivey has one from WSOP Asia-Pacific, Negreanu has one of each, and Brunson has one from a Mixed Doubles event.

Although Brunson, Chan, and Phil Ivey are tied for second with 10, Brunson is retired, Chan hasn't won a bracelet since 2005, and Ivey rarely plays in the WSOP anymore. Seidel is the closest active chaser, but he's 63 years old. That leaves Ferguson, Hastings, Hennigan, Negreanu, Lisandro, and Forrest as the most likely candidates to eventually catch Hellmuth, and they're a mere 37.5% of the way there.

Sixteen players have won exactly five bracelets, 34 players have four, and 57 have three, including the top women: Barbara Enright (1986, 1994, and 1996) and Nani Dollison (2000 and two in 2001), who have each won two women's events and one open event, and Vanessa Selbst (2008, 2012, and 2014) and Kristen Bicknell (2013, 2016, and 2020), who have each won three open events.

Another 169 players have won two bracelets. Jennifer Harman became the first woman to win multiple open events by taking the $5,000 No-Limit Deuce-to-Seven Draw in 2000 and the $5,000 Limit Hold 'Em in 2002.3

Loni Harwood (2013 and 2015) has also won two open events, while Starla Brodie has one doubles title (with Doyle Brunson in 1979) and one women's title (1995), and Susie Isaacs has two women's titles (1996 and 1997).

Players Born Outside the U.S.

Poker was popular in the United States long before it spread to the rest of the world. Americans won every bracelet at the World Series of Poker for the first eighteeen years it was held, as very few foreigners competed. After the first 180 or so events had been won by Americans, Norway's Thor Hansen and France's Gilbert Gross both broke through in 1988, with Hansen winning the $5,000 Seven-Card Stud just four days before Gross captured the $2,500 Pot-Limit Omaha.

No surprise then that the eight players with the most bracelets are all Americans. The first non-Americans are tied for ninth: Canadian Daniel Negreanu and Australia-born, Italy-residing Jeff Lisandro have each captured six bracelets. Here are the non-Americans with at least three bracelets:

Top Non-American WSOP Bracelet Winners

6Daniel NegreanuCanada
6Jeff LisandroItaly (born in Australia)
4Adrian MateosSpain
4Asi MosheIsrael
4Dominik NitscheGermany
4George DanzerGermany
4Julien MartiniFrance
4Max PescatoriItaly
4Michael AddamoAustralia
4Michael GathyBelgium

Many players born in other countries moved to the United States before they won their first WSOP bracelet. It's possible that some of these players have retained dual citizenship, but in any case their native countries can still take credit for raising them.

Top American Bracelet Winners Born Outside the U.S.

10Johnny ChanChina
5Eli ElezraIsrael
5John JuandaIndonesia
4Farzad BonyadiIran
3Chau GiangVietnam
3David PhamVietnam
3Eli BalasIsrael
3Hamid DastmalchiIran
3Peter VilandosGreece
3Sam FarhaLebanon

Alternative Bracelet Counts

The rest of the world doesn't always agree with how the World Series of Poker counts bracelets. For example, the Hendon Mob Database and other sites (including this one) don't agree that Sandy Stupak deserves a bracelet for her 14-player Special Casino Operators victory in 1984.

Particularly murky are the first three years of the WSOP. Johnny Moss was voted the overall winner in 1970 and gets a bracelet. Puggy Pearson, Bill Boyd, Jimmy Casella, and Moss won banquet awards in 1971 and are considered bracelets, while other awards in both 1970 and 1972 are not. You can read more about alternate bracelet counts and their historical implications.

Related Articles:

External Links: