Poker Omnibus W50P

Home Up

Most World Series of Poker Main Event Final Tables

In the early days of the World Series of Poker, reaching the final table of the Main Event wasn't much of an accomplishment because the fields were small. The tournament was winner-take-all until 1977, paid five places from 1977 to 1980, and expanded to nine paid in 1981.

Thus the following table includes only the winners from 1970 to 1977 and the final six from 1978 to 1980. The official final table has been nine players since 1981, but television added a confusing twist. To save time and money, the broadcast began when the field was down to six players until 2000.

Most Main Event Final Tables

Top 9PlayerTop 6
6Johnny Moss5
5Doyle Brunson5
5Jesse Alto4
4Berry Johnston4
4Dan Harrington4
4T.J. Cloutier4
4Johnny Chan3
4Stu Ungar3
3Al Krux3
3Bill Smith3
3Hamid Dastmalchi3
3John Bonetti2
3Jack Keller1
3Steve Lott1