Poker Omnibus W50P Download from the App Store

WSOP Player of the Year 2017

In 2017, the World Series of Poker Player of the Year formula changed yet again. Kings Casino Rozvadov, host of the 2017 World Series of Poker Europe in the Czech Republic for the first time, sponsored the contest and chose to replace the Global Poker Index's complex formula with their own new and fairly simple formula, making each cash worth:
	(prize/buyin)^(1/3) * (buyin)^(1/6) * 10

With the new formula possibly overweighting smaller cashes, Chris Ferguson and John Racener played a ton and broke the Las Vegas record for cashes in one World Series of Poker summer with 17.1

They continued their battle across the pond into WSOP Europe, where Ferguson cashed another six times, two more than Racener. Jesus finally sealed the WSOP POY award when Racener exited on Day 2 of the WSOP Europe Main Event. Along the way, Ferguson won the 92-player €1,650 Pot-Limit Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better for his sixth career WSOP bracelet, ending a 14-year drought.2 He still finished with the least winnings ($436,343) of any WSOP Player of the Year since Tom Schneider took in $416,829 in 2007.

2017 WSOP Player of the Year Top Ten

1Chris Ferguson1,178.53
2John Racener1,042.04
3Ryan Hughes994.35
4Mike Leah910.01
5John Monnette865.21
6Kenny Hallaert838.35
7Alex Foxen833.45
8Dario Sammartino775.89
9Raymond Henson768.49
10Ben Yu766.49

Ferguson also closed in on the 100-cash mark with 97, leaping to fourth on the career leaderboard behind only Phil Hellmuth (130), Daniel Negreanu (103), and Erik Seidel (101).

Related Articles:

External Links: